Hey! You’re AA, right?

5 Jan

Today’s post is about setting yourself apart. Getting noticed. Sparking interest.

As some of you may have noticed by now, I can’t seem to keep my hair one color for long. And, what started as a crazy college experiment soon turned into something that, in a way, defines how people see me. Current color choice: fire engine red.

Pause for awkward Myspace angle pic

*Snap

Edit

[Insert in post]

Now, I don’t show you this so you’ll think I’m edgy or cool or professionally rebellious. I show you this because it’s me. In high school, hair color was cool and my mom hated it. In college it was something I could do for me in the midst of my hectic schedule. And now? It’s a trademark. Something as simple as the color of my hair can spark conversation, become an interview ice breaker, or even encourage others to try something new.

Sure, there are several employers and professionals that would scoff at the blue hair I had for Colts season last year or the glow in the dark green streak I had for St. Patricks day a few years ago, but that’s when I ask myself: “Do I really want to put myself in an environment where being me isn’t what they want?”  What a fantastic opportunity to be professionally choosy and seek out the environment I will thrive in, the people I can help, encourage and learn from.

Obviously it would be silly to think everyone can have a physical attribute to set them apart from the crowd, but I would ask you this:

What do you do to set yourself apart?

Maybe you are a cat freak or free time chef. Maybe you make belts out of spoons and headbands out buttons. Maybe you’re bald.

Whatever it is, don’t rule out the things that make you, YOU.

That is what people are interested in. That is what will get you noticed. That is what will spark their interest.

2 Responses to “Hey! You’re AA, right?”

  1. robbyslaughter (@robbyslaughter) January 5, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    What I TRULY love about being distinctive is not that it makes you unique, but rather it proves who can’t handle you being different.

    What a blessing it is to discover employers who care about your hair color! Then you know that you don’t want to work there.

    • arinanderson January 5, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

      Exactly! It really has been such a blessing in disguise for me. Thanks for the comment, Robby!

Leave a Reply

